Frames within Frames

a-collection-of-art-and-natural-wonders-sm

I was skimming through my files of photographs and I saw this image from the Kusthistorisches Museum in Vienna.  I have always been drawn to the Flemish paintings and this museum has a great selection.  This particular painting by Hans Jordaens III from around 1630 came to my attention the same day that we had a discussion in my photography class about how my images of Times Square draw the eye to a number of “framed” images within the photo.  So here we have a 17th century painting juxtaposed with some 21st century photos of an iconic city space.

red-cross-in-nyc

sensory-overload

Leave a Reply

