Overworked and Overwhelmed

img_0509via Daily Prompt: Overworked

I have to leave for work in an hour and I’m still in my night clothes writing a blog post.  My operating system is working but I’m overwhelmed and anxious.  In eight days I leave for Italy.  This is a dream trip for me.  I have rented an apartment in southern Italy where I will escape the Chicago winter andthe tension of this past year and work on finishing a novel I have written.  I am calling it my sabbatical even though I am self-employed and so do not have an employer to support my retreat.

As the date approaches, I have been unusually anxious about it.  Although I have traveled by myself before, living on my own for a month in a foreign country is a new thing.  I have made the commitment to work while there and it may be hard to be true to that commitment.  In the meantime, I have had personal and work crises to manage and the usual pile of unfinished business to take care of before I leave.  My operating system may be present but I may be running out of RAM.

Leave a Reply

