La Passeggiata

Kors IGsm.jpg

Rain or shine, it seems everyone is out taking a walk here in Bari in the late afternoon. The streets weren’t quite as crowded today as on a sunny day but I certainly was not alone wandering the streets and peering into the designer shop windows. There were shoppers too but the evening stroll seems to be more about being outside than it is about shopping.  The Passeggiata is a family affair.  I can’t imagine my two sons agreeing to a nightly stroll through town when they lived at home!  I could not have torn them away from their electronics.  No wonder kids here are generally thinner!
I have been nearly a month here in Bari and I too have my daily routines. I have been writing most weekday mornings but as the day progresses I hasten to the Lungomare (waterfront) to catch the last of the sun. Since Bari is on the eastern side of Italy the sun sets over the land and ducks behind the buildings fairly early in the day. I didn’t run all the way to Italy to escape winter only to never see the sun. Even here it is winter, though. We’ve only had around two rainy days since I arrived but it is chilly many days and the sun sets early. I can only imagine what the long summer days must be like here! I would love to be able to linger in the squares eating gelato at 9 or 10 PM but it is currently too dark and cold for that to appeal.
I have had a myriad of minor and major difficulties that have interfered with my blogging this month. The hard drive on my computer died and needed to be replaced. The process went very smoothly which was a delight given that I find locating the proper store to buy toilet paper to be a challenge here. The shop owner even saved all my data. After that, I had to reload all my software. I still have not bothered with Photoshop which further hampers my photography because after downloading Windows updates and virus protection (at glacially slow download speeds), I discovered that I had used up all the internet allocation of the place I am staying. Three days later my host was able to buy more internet data for me but I am now more cautious about downloads. Life has been further complicated by tendinitis in my right elbow but who’s complaining? This was a long-winded explanation of why I have been neglecting this blog. I hope to get back to it more regularly soon.
I have less than a week more here in Italy. The month has flown by and I will miss Bari and the south of Italy.  I’ll likely have months of processing photos when I return home to keep the memories alive.

Leave a Reply

