Layered

Layered Netting

Layers of netting on a wharf in Bari, Italy.

The Daily Post Weekly Challenge is calling for layers, figurative or literal. Scrolling through my photos pulls back a few layers of unprocessed images.
When I think of layers I think of layers of meaning, layers in a French pastry, geologic layers compressed in rock, layers of stone in an ancient roof, layers of junk in my office (sigh). What comes to your mind?

Stone Roofing

These are the roofs of Trulli, old buildings made from mortarless stone found in Puglia, Italy. Many Trulli are found in the town of Alberobello which is a world heritage site. My landlord while I stayed in Bari told me that many local people use a Trullo as a vacation home (with modern conveniences added) and they are scattered throughout Puglia. Alberobello was a bit touristy for my taste. The countryside nearby was beautiful though.

Alberobello Roofs

3 thoughts on “Layered

  1. Pingback: Layered: Sky 2 Blue | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a comment